Holden’s Blog Entry (Assignment)

Today I had a fight with Stradlater. It all began with his stupid date. Stradlater is nothing more than a phony, a moron, he doesn’t even know Jane’s real name. He doesn’t care about her, he doesn’t even know anything about her, he actually thought her name was Jean for christsake. When I told him about her he didn’t even pay attention to me. He didn’t even thank me when I wrote that essay for him so that he was even able to go on his date with Jane, I even have to make mistakes on purpose in order to make it look like he wrote the essay. When he got back from his date the first thing he does is tell me how bad the essay that I wrote as a favor to him was. That’s the last time I ever help out Stradlater, he can do his own assignments from now on. He is a phony just like everyone else in this school.

I walk a lonely road
The only one that I have ever known
Don’t know where it goes
But it’s home to me and I walk alone

I walk this empty street
On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
Where the city sleeps
and I’m the only one and I walk alone

I walk alone
I walk alone

I walk alone
I walk a…

My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me
My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating
Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
‘Til then I walk alone

Ah-ah, Ah-ah, Ah-ah, Aaah-ah,
Ah-ah, Ah-ah, Ah-ah

I’m walking down the line
That divides me somewhere in my mind
On the border line
Of the edge and where I walk alone

Read between the lines
What’s fucked up and everything’s alright
Check my vital signs
To know I’m still alive and I walk alone

I walk alone
I walk alone

I walk alone
I walk a…

My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me
My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating
Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
‘Til then I walk alone

Ah-ah, Ah-ah, Ah-ah, Aaah-ah
Ah-ah, Ah-ah

I walk alone
I walk a…

I walk this empty street
On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
Where the city sleeps
And I’m the only one and I walk a…

My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me
My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating
Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me
‘Til then I walk alone…

englishpic.jpg

We used the put the song Boulevard of Broken Dreams into the entry because we thought that it related to Holden a great deal. He has no friends at the school he goes to and there are signs of him being lonely throughout the whole novel. The first line of the song is “I walk a lonely road the only one I’ll ever know” and this first line defines a great deal of Holden, his life, and his feelings. We used the picture of the baseball mitt in order emphasize Holden and his emotions. He feels depressed and alone after his brother’s death and when he writes the essay for Stradlater he writes it about the mitt showing that he is still thinking about his brother.

10 responses to “Holden’s Blog Entry (Assignment)

  1. I really apperciate how this blog uses multiple mediums to characterize Holden. I like how you wrote your own passage from Holden’s point of view, using his particular vocabulary and emotion. I also love the song you chose to characterize him, and it’s not only a great song, but it deffinetely demonstrates Holden’s personality. I also like how you posted a visual of Allie’s baseball glove along with the lyrics to the song.

  2. Assigned
    Hey, this is really good. You have not only a blog, but a song and a graphic. I haven’t thought of using “Boulevard of Broken Dreams” as a connection for Holden. The song suits Holden best when he is walking down the blocks and he is talking to Allie. Although Holden probably doesn’t want to walk alone; he does. So this song would be more of a narrative to his actions, than what he is actually feeling.

  3. I love the connection to green day. Holden feels alone and he really does want someone to notice him.He feels like he’s the only one especially since Allie died. Ever since Allie died this is the only way he knows how to live, and that’s exactly what the song touches upon, and having the music video is so awesome! The reflection on the top is very well written also, capturing Holden’s real emotions. He is angered by Stradlater and how he might do stuff with Jane, without really caring about her. Great job!

  4. the comment by cheesefries at 10:56pm should say assigned.

  5. (Assigned)I enjoyed this blog very much. Both the tone of Holden’s reflection on the Stradlater situation along with the music video captivates the Holden’s tone and the mood of the book.In the world Holden must feel that “he walks alone” because his entire world is crumbling before him at Pency. Yet because no one at Pency is on his side, he goes to Allie who gives him comfort. He does this because he probably doesn’t want to walk alone and denys it like wordtyper has said. Good idea applying the song lyrics to the Holden.

  6. (Assigned)I enjoyed this blog very much. Both the tone of Holden’s reflection on the Stradlater situation along with the music video captivates the Holden’s tone and the mood of the book.In the world Holden must feel that “he walks alone” because his entire world is crumbling before him at Pency. Yet because no one at Pency is on his side, he goes to Allie who gives him comfort. He does this because he probably doesn’t want to walk alone and denys it like wordtyper has said. Good idea applying the song lyrics to the Holden.

  7. (Assigned) I like this blog a lot. The blog entry done by Holden really fits his character because he talks like that throughout the book, with short, somewhat choppy sentences that contain cursewords. It really shows how Holden feels about everyone around him, about them all being phonies. The entry really stays true to Holden’s attitude. Also, the song was very creative because it does honestly relate to Holden, especially when he is walking down the street thinking about Allie, or when he was walking home alone because he was tired of riding around in cabs. Nice job.

  8. (assigned)I like this blog alot. This song helps you to make a connection to certain events in Holden’s life. The verse
    I walk this empty street
    On the Boulevard of Broken Dreams
    Where the city sleeps
    and I’m the only one and I walk alone

    can be connected to Holden being expelled from another school. All dreams of the future are becoming further and further away from coming true. Using a song was a great idea.

  9. howtomaneuverwordpress

    (assigned) This blog is great. I love this song and I’ve heard it so many times, but i never thought to connect it to Holden. It fits perfectly though. Despite all the people around him, Holden constantly feels alone. The varying mediums really make this blog interesting.

  10. (assigned) I think this was good. The song portrays the whole bbok into one song. Holden’s life is basically this song. This song also fits Holden’s personality.

Leave a Reply

